Go back


Diesel Magazine gives the 2014 Award to the new Cursor 16 Engine by Ftp Industrial, a brand in the Cnh Group


Verona, 30 April 2014. The coming edition of Samoter will once again welcome the prize giving of the DIESEL OF THE YEAR® award made every year to the most technically innovative diesel engine by Diesel Magazine, a landmark since 1986 for OEMs which tackles, develops and presents issues in the sector with impressive attention.

And given the status of the award, the event takes place among the initiatives scheduled for Samoter 2014; Diesel is a specialist magazine dealing with topics covering the development, production and use of diesel engines in all industrial and automotive applications.

The CEO and Director General of Veronafiere, Giovanni Mantovani, said: "Samoter, over and above its traditional role as a platform for business development, has always been an occasion for comparison and analysis where the innovations and creativity of manufacturers are the protagonists and rewarded.

The 2014 award goes to the Fpt Cursor 16, an engine with a displacement of 16 litres and six cylinders in-line that is the outcome of the technological excellence achieved by Fpt Industrial, a brand belonging to the Cnh Industrial Group. This Cursor engine is one of the most compact engines in its category and adopts "High Efficiency Selective Catalytic Reduction" technology developed by Fpt Industrial in order to meet the requirements of "Stage IV/Tier 4 Final and Euro VI" in terms of emissions.

"The award testifies to the excellence of Fpt Industrial's technological research in this field," said Massimo Siracusa, Fpt Vice President of Product Engineering; "our team carries out its work with passion and takes pride in designing innovative solutions of the highest quality for our customers. This new engine provides power, efficiency and compliance with the emission regulations."

Winners of previous editions of the DIESEL OF THE YEAR® include: 2014 Fpt Industrial Cursor 16 - 2013 MTU 6R 1500 - 2012 KOHLER KDI2504TCR - 2011 JCB Ecomax - 2010 Deutz Tcd 2.9 L4 - 2009 Perkins 1206E-E70TTA - 2008 Fpt F 32 - 2007 Cummins B3.3 - 2006 John Deere PowerTech Plus 6090.

The prize-giving event, in the presence of the organizers and Veronafiere management, will take place on 8 May at 14.30 in the forum area of the Press room in Hall 9.

Source: SaMoTer; Veronafiere