Go back
IFOY Award Ceremony 2016 Go to photo
IFOY Award Ceremony 2016

IFOY Award Ceremony 2016

Night of Winners ...

It was the highlight of the intralogistics year. 350 guests of honour accepted the invitation to celebrate the winners of the IFOY Award 2016 on the opening ceremony of the CeMAT fair Hannover.

After the welcome address by the sponsor of the IFOY Award, Sascha Schmel, Managing Director VDMA Materials Handling and Logistics Systems Sector Association) and Dr. Andreas Gruchow, Member of the Managing Board of Deutsche Messe AG and longstanding partner of the IFOY Award, Prof. Dr. Michael ten Hompel (Fraunhofer IML) took the 350 guests on a journey to future intralogistics.

IFOY Award Ceremony 2016


Before the names of the winners were announced, the 2016 finalists took part in a discussion session chaired by British IFOY jury member Peter Mac Leod. The panel featured Sam Coles (Senior Vice President Europe, TMHE), Javier Contijoch (Forklift Director, BYD Europe), Ken Dufford (Vice President Europe, Crown), Thomas A. Fischer (Chief Sales Officer, Still), Rudolf Keller (Managing Director, SSI Schäfer) and Dr. Oliver Lücke (Management Board Member, Jungheinrich).

The tension was tangible, because – with the exception of the jury – no one knows beforehand which of the nominated vehicles will walk away with one of the prestigious awards. The names of the winners were announced by congratulatory speakers Dr. Andreas Gruchow (Member of the Managing Board, Deutsche Messe), Harald Scherleitner (CEO of Global Perfect Charging at Fronius International), Michael Pooley (President CHEP Europe), Wilfried Neuhaus-Galladé (Chairman VDMA Materials Handling and Intralogistics Association Board) and Christian Labrot (President, International Road Transport Union (IRU), Switzerland and Managing Director of the German Association for Business, Transport and Logistics (BWVL).

In short: anyone who makes it through to the finals should feel like a winner. This year, it was BYD, Crown, Jungheinrich, SSI Schäfer, who crossed the line first and won the IFOY Awards in five categories.

IFOY Award Ceremony 2016